Group Members

The Group, October 2017

Group 17-10-17

Current Group Members


Jeff Wong

Jeff obtained his MChem at the University of York, undertaking his final year project under the supervision of Prof. Peter O’Brien and Dr Thomas Farmer developing methodologies for obtaining lead-like nitrogen heterocycles from the renewable starting material 2-MeTHF. Jeff then joined the Barker group in 2017 as a PhD student working on enantioselective lithiations of alkyltetrazoles and alkylpyrazoles.


Urszula Luchowska

Urszula graduated with an MPharm degree from the University of Warsaw in 2017, and subsequently started a PhD at Heriot-Watt University with Dr Stephen Yarwood and Dr Graeme Barker. Her project is focused on identifying and studying small molecule agonists and antagonists of EPAC1 to develop potential therapeutic strategies for cardiovascular diseases and type 2 diabetes. In her spare time, Urszula enjoys reading, coffee and sailing.

Ben Donkin

Ben Donkin

Ben is a third year undergraduate at Heriot-Watt, and joins the group for a summer project synthesizing a small library of heterocyclic EPAC1 ligands.



Former Group Members

2017-18: Emma Donald – Emma joined the group for an MChem project to develop enantioselective catalysis using chiral frustrated Lewis Pairs. After leaving Heriot-Watt, she started on a graduate scheme with Heineken.

2017-18: Ben Trowse – Ben joined us of an MChem project investigating the metalation of 5-benzyltetrazoles. After graduation, he took up a PhD position with Dr Tom Farmer and Prof. Peter O’Brien at the University of York.

2017: Padraic Whelan – undergraduate summer project student